champion!Columbus Crew beat Los Angeles FC to win 2023 MLS Cup


Head coach Wilfried Nancy’s side put on a masterclass performance at a rain-soaked Stadium on Saturday, following the 2008 and 2020 teams that also finished as champions For the record, the Eastern Conference club won the MLS Cup for the third time.

First-half goals from Cucho Hernández (33′) and Yaw Yeboah (37′) gave Columbus a cushion, absorbing a lifeline from Dénis Bouanga (74′) to halt LAFC’s pursuit of a repeat MLS Cup . In the process, head coach Wilfried Nancy’s team has climbed to the top of the 29-team field that began with MLS’ return weekend on Feb. 25.

Before hoisting the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy, Columbus took the lead thanks to Cudjoe’s authoritative penalty kick, helping him win MLS Cup MVP honors by Audi and earn the title of MLS Cup MVP with Audi Honors Five goals tied for the Cup playoff lead to end the game. The chance arose when referee Armando Villarreal pointed to the spot, judging LAFC defender Diego Palacios to have handled Diego Rossi’s flicked touch.

The Crew were the league’s highest-scoring team in 2023, and their advantage quickly doubled when Yeboah completed 11 passes. The Crew’s left-wing back met a through ball from Mart Amundsen and fired past goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau.

But, as is often the case in 2023, Bouanga will not remain silent. The All-Pro XI striker’s second shot went past goalkeeper Patrick Schulte, tying him with teammate Carlos Vela for the most goals in MLS in all competitions (38). ) (Bela won the MVP in 2019).

However, Black and Gold’s later efforts failed. After seven minutes of second-half stoppage time, the home team danced with the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *