Max Verstappen wins Qatar Grand Prix, celebrates third title


Max Verstappen won the 14th race of the 2023 Formula 1 season on Sunday. (Photo by KARIM JAAFAR/AFP) (Photo by KARIM JAAFAR/AFP via ) (Karim Jaafar via )

Max Verstappen ended his championship weekend with a dominant win at the Qatar Grand Prix.

Verstappen started from pole position and his biggest challenge to the lead came on the first lap, when the Mercedes cars of George Russell and Lewis Hamilton each entered the corner in an attempt to overtake Verstappen. But Russell and Hamilton collided as Hamilton moved outside on the soft tire.

The contact knocked Hamilton out of the race and forced Russell back into the field during a bizarre grand prix session.

Sunday’s race is the first at Lusail since 2021 and tire manufacturer Pirelli has concerns about the combination of track surface and curbs relative to the integrity of the tyres. The FIA ​​announced on Sunday morning that drivers will be limited to no more than 18 laps on a set of tyres, after imposing new track restrictions ahead of Saturday’s sprint to prevent drivers from going over certain curbs.

That makes the 57-lap race a minimum of three pit stops for each team. But that didn’t matter to Verstappen. No one can keep up.

McLaren’s Oscar Piastri finished second, with teammate Lando Norris third. Russell fought back to finish fourth, while Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc finished fifth. Leclerc was the only Ferrari in the race; Carlos Sainz was unable to start due to problems with his car’s fuel system.

The win was Verstappen’s 14th in the first 17 races of the season. He claimed his third consecutive Formula One title in the sprint race on Saturday after teammate Sergio Perez fell. Perez must win the sprint race and Verstappen must finish seventh or worse to keep the rest of the title race going into Sunday’s race.

If Perez somehow lets the title race last another day, Verstappen will easily seal victory on Sunday.

Unofficial match results

1. Max Verstappen, Red Bull

2. Oscar Piastri, McLaren

3. Lando Norris, McLaren

4. George Russell, Mercedes

5. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

6. Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin

7. Esteban Ocon, Alps

8. Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo

9. Lance Stroll, Aston Martin

10. Pierre Gasly, Alps

11. Sergio Perez, Red Bull

12. Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo

13. Alex Albon, Williams

14. Kevin Magnussen, Haas

15. Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri

16. Nico Hulkenberg, Haas

17. Liam Lawson, Alpha Taurus

uncategorized: Sergeant Logan, Williams; Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

Domain name system: Carlos Sainz, Ferrari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *